Interview With Dave Coppola of INVERTIA – XS Rock

Interview With Dave Coppola of INVERTIA – XS Rock

Interview With Dave Coppola of INVERTIA

Recently, I had the chance to sit down and catch up with Dave Coppola of the band Invertia. Dave says his biggest musical influence is Ministry and you can definitely hear it Invertia‘s sound.  The band has a lot of fans that really gravitate to their industrial brand of metal. Check out what Dave had to say below:

XS ROCK: Tell me about the latest band news? Any new projects coming out, live shows or announcements?
Dave: We have a new album coming out December 9th, 2016.  It’s called “The Biddings of Tyrants” We are proud of this album, I know everybody says this but we feel it’s our best work to date.  Also be on the lookout for our E.P. which hopefully will be out mid 2017!

XS ROCK: How long has the band been together?
Dave: INVERTIA has been together for about 10 years.  We didn’t release anything for a while until it was viable to do so.  That’s why only three albums and the upcoming E.P.  We were just having fun with it at first, luckily it’s still fun that’s why we still try to evolve as a band and push forward.

XS ROCK: What was your main motivation for starting or being in a band?
Dave: The whole creative process, it’s full of surprises.  Sometimes it’s so inspiring you just get on a roll.  When this happens you never know what you’re going to get, so you end up with things you planned and then the surprises just come out of nowhere.

XS ROCK: What is your music background?
Dave: I was in bands growing up with friends from high school at first.  Then I played live bass in a band called December Wolves. Those were a lot of good times. A few years later I met Tim and I also had a big industrial music background so between my passion for industrial and metal and Tim’s influences we just ended up naturally with the Invertia sound.

XS ROCK: What image do you think your music conveys?
Dave: Just like most art it’s a reflection of who we are as people, personally and as a specie.  The music itself comes across with a certain distaste for some of the things we see around us and the lack of urgency for a solution.  This album relates to the spewing of horror that comes from some electronic devices and people’s mouths.

XS ROCK: What are your immediate music career goals?
Dave: My immediate goals are to learn more about the guitar and see where I can go with the instrument.  I’ve been playing now for over 25 years and the great thing with the guitar is its never ending.

XS ROCK: What are your long-term career goals?
Dave: Long term is to keep writing and  mature as a band.  I think we will try some new approaches creatively for the next album to mix it up a bit.  I think by the time we get to a fourth album it’s time to stir the pot a bit.  Otherwise it can get stale.

XS ROCK: Which do you prefer? Writing new songs and recording or playing for a live audience?
Dave: That’s a great question.  It’s hard to say.  When I’m writing I always say to myself this is what I like most. In the studio when those surprises I was speaking of happen I like that too.  On the other hand after a good show I’m sure I like playing live the most! So I can’t really decide. haha!  There’s nothing like a great show with a great crowd, that I’m sure of…

XS ROCK: What are your songs about?
Dave: We cover all kinds of things.  “The Biddings of Tyrants” covers everything from the fur trapping industry, to the bombing at the Boston Marathon, Scientology, and things like the American media as well as environmental issues.  Some of our past albums dealt with Religious point of views and just getting out some personal aggressions.

XS ROCK: What’s the strangest request that you’ve ever received from one of your fans?
Dave: An autograph…it’s weird for me.  I appreciate it for sure.  I don’t mean to sound like Roger Clemens or anything it’s very cool when people ask.  It usually means they appreciate what you do.   Personally I collect old horror movie autographs so I totally get it!

XS ROCK: Were your parents supportive of your aspirations to play in a rock band?
Dave: Absolutely.  They knew I would do this forever before I did.  When I was about 13 years old they bought me a Les Paul.  I had a beater before that but the Les Paul I still play to this day.  It’s my favorite guitar I own.  I’ve never looked back since.

XS ROCK: What are your favorite tracks to play live?
Dave: I would have to say Situation Manipulator from our first album.  It’s short but it has a lot of dynamics for the live setting. Plus it has slow parts so it’s a little bit of a break for me amongst all the chaos of our live show.

XS ROCK: Which band or artist inspired you to perform? Why?
Dave: If I had to pick just one I would say Ministry.  Al and the boys put on a great show.  All the video stuff, the samples, of course the tunes themselves and just that bad ass mic stand with the skull and bones, you can’t go wrong!

XS ROCK: If you could design a dream tour for your band, who would be on the bill?
Dave: That’s a tough one.  I’m going to go with an industrial metal package tour and say Dodheimsgard, Annal Nathrakh and us, Invertia!  That would be complete pandemonium!

XS ROCK: What do you consider your greatest accomplishment so far?
Dave: I think it would have to be the new album.  I only say that because it put us to the test.  It wasn’t easy to make.  It’s difficult to keep the sound you started with to keep a fan base and evolve without losing them at the same time.  I feel we were able to accomplish that on “The Bidding of Tyrants” I think if you liked the old stuff you will like this album and see Invertia honing in on our sound but not being afraid to experiment with new things.  It’s the reason we try to take a different approach with each album.

XS ROCK: If you weren’t performing in a band what kind of career do you think you would have?
Dave: I actually own a heating and air conditioning company.  Music doesn’t pay the all the bills unfortunately.  That’s not something that will stop us from continuing.

XS ROCK: What type of equipment do you use for live shows?
Dave: I use a Schecter Damian guitar and Bugera amps. On bass we had Kurt from Submerged and I believe he uses an Ibanez bass, I forget which model.  His bass rig was a Mesa-Boogie.  Tim uses Korg keyboards and a laptop for a slide show, samples and drum programming.

XS ROCK: What do you think of the current music scene?
Dave: I don’t keep up with too much of it.  I do like newer bands such as Nervosa, Aevangelist, and I’m actually digging the new Soulfly album, which is something I never thought I would say.  I’m a fan of the old Sepultura but I never cared much for Soulfly but the newer albums I like a lot.  I like Youth Code as well, very cool duo doing new things with e.b.m. and hardcore punk.

XS ROCK: For anyone that doesn’t know you, what would they be surprised to know about you?
Dave: Probably the fact that I own a Labradoodle!  His name is Hank!  I named him after Hank Williams.

XS ROCK: If someone had never heard you before, how would you describe your sound?
Dave: Oppressive. Industrial. Metal.

XS ROCK: Is there anything that you’d like to promote or say to your fans out there?
Dave: Our new album “The Bidding of Tyrants” will be available at invertia.bandcamp.com on December 9th, 2016!  Also, keep an ear out for the new E.P. later in 2017!  Check us out at inv3rtia.com

XS ROCK: Thanks again for taking the time to talk with us at XS Rock!
Dave: You’re very welcome!  Thank you for the interview, we appreciate it!!!

